By Jeevan Kumar

University of Hyderabad (UoH) administration has cancelled the Open Dias manifesto presentation for Student Union elections 2013. The presidential candidates will be going on air to present their manifesto to the student community on University’s campus radio Bol Hyderabad 90.4 FM.

“We had to choose this option considering the difficulties we have faced in the previous elections. We can’t accommodate all students in DST. Rains might disrupt the program if we conduct it at Open Dias. So we thought Bol Hyderabad FM will be a good option,” said Prof. B.V. Sharma, Dean of Student Welfare.

Recording will be done on the 28th of October, at Department of Communication. Only presidential candidates are allowed to speak in the presence of returning officers. Each candidate will be given 10 minutes of time to speak. The manifestos will then be broadcasted on the 29th of October.

Various student political organisations of University of Hyderabad have already declared the names of their contestants for upcoming Students Union elections 2013.

This year SFI, ABVP and NSUI are contesting alone, while five organisations: ASA-BSF-TSF-TSA-MSF came together to form United Democratic Alliance. There are six more candidates contesting for the President Post other than the representatives of these organisations. Interestingly one student, Gurram Ashok from IMA Social Sciences, is contesting independently for the Presidential Post.

Returning officers finalised the list of nominations wherein, most number of nominations were filed for the Presidential Post(10), and least for Sports Secretary(3). Five students are competing for Joint Secretary. General Secretary and Cultural Secretary Posts have received four nominations each.

Since the nomination process was over the contestants are busy with campaigning. The University has already made arrangements for polling and ballot papers have already been bought. Allotment of different polling booths has also been done.  Click here to see your polling booth.

List of Contestants

The Student Body Elections
Graphics: Rebecca Girigalla