Campus turns red fortressStudents’ Union Election 2015 in University of Hyderabad reached its finale with the panel comprising Students Federation of India (SFI), Dalit Students’ Union (DSU), Telangana Students’ Front (TSF) and Telangana Vidyarthi Vedika (TVV) coming to power. The alliance swept all the  positions in the  Students’ Union.

With a margin of 339 votes Zuhail K.P. emerged victorious to the post of the President while Raju Kumar Sahu won the post of General Secretary with a lead of 190 votes. Others in the panel are M. Venkatesh (Vice President) N. Siva Durga Rao (Joint Secretary) Chiluka Srilatha (Cultural Secretary) and P. Sandeep Kumar (Sports Secretary). Aleena Sebastian (Ph.D) and Sana Fatima (CIS) were elected to the Gender Sensitisation – Committee Against Sexual Harassment (GS-CASH). Aritraa Saha was elected unopposed as the Masters representative in GS-CASH. Majority of councillors were also elected from the winning alliance. In the overall outcome ABVP (Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad) came second and UDA (United Democratic Alliance) third.

The polling was held on the 8th of October with booths set up in the different departments. The process went smoothly and peacefully. The polling precentage was 79% with 3825 of 4800. Counting took place at Ambedkar Auditorium and the results were  announced around 7:30 pm on 9th October. Jubilant celebrations carried out by the students of the winning organizations marked the conclusion of the polls. The Telangana State SFI unit congratulated the winners. The UDA was the winner last year.