By Nalme Nachiyar & Rebecca Vargese

While spirits soar Photo: Rebecca Vargese

It was a moment of pride and excitement for over 1400 students who graduated amidst the applause and wishes of their parents, teachers and peers at the Global Peace Auditorium, the venue of the fifteenth convocation of the University of Hyderabad held on Tuesday.

The joyous moment of the animated students took the Chief Guest Padmasri Prof. T.V Ramakrishnan, Eminent Physicist and Professor Emeritus, Banaras Hindu University (BHU), down his memory lane. Calling himself a ‘lifelong student’, in his convocation address, he called upon the students to be willing to learn throughout their lives.  He pointed to students that the value of ‘swadhyaya’ which is ‘the path of self-study and self-reflection’ is crucial for their individual survival and growth.

Reflecting on the state of higher education programmes in India, Prof.Ramakrishnan chalked out the means through which these universities may turn into real universities which will explore the wealth of a diverse culture like ours.

Presenting the report on this occasion, Vice Chancellor Prof. Ramakrishna Ramaswamy congratulated all the graduates. Highlighting the achievements of the 39 year old university, he said that, “UoH has always been special, both in the way it was established and the way in which it has grown”. He also expressed his happiness at the University having now been recognised as a University of Excellence.

The event began with an academic procession that included the Academic Council and the recipients of the Honorary Degrees of UoH. The recipients of the Honoris Causa were Sri K G Subramanyan (Doctor of Literature), Prof. Sir Michael Victor Berry (Doctor of Science), Prof. Andre Beteille (Doctor of Science), Prof. Satish C Maheshwari (Doctor of Science) and Aruna Roy (Doctor of Literature – in absentia).

The Chancellor’s Awards 2013 was conferred upon five young faculty in recognition of their overall contribution to the University.  The awardees were Dr. R Balamurugan (Chemistry), Dr. Aparna Devare (Political science), Dr. Surajit Dhara (Physics), Dr. Amit Kumar Mishra (Centre for the Study of Indian Diaspora) and Dr. Pammi Pavan Kumar (Telugu).

The candidates of Ph.D degrees from the 12 Schools of Study were awarded their certificates by the Chancellor Dr. C R Hanumantah Rao. Class toppers in P.G. courses were awarded with the Endowment and University medals along with the toppers from the SC/ST students and those from the various M.Phil and M.Tech programmes by E.S.L. Narasimhan, Governor of Andhra Pradesh and Chief Rector of the University.