University of Hyderabad has announced the schedule for the Students’ Union elections, 2013-2014. The schedule has been put up on the university’s website which also contains the Code of Conduct for all contesting parties and eligibility requirements for candidates filing nominations.

Students will be contesting for the following positions.

  • President
  • Vice-President
  • General Secretary
  • Joint Secretary
  • Cultural Secretary
  • Sports Secretary
  • School Board members and Councillors

Eligible candidates can file their nominations on the October 21 and 22, at the office of the Dean of Students’ Welfare (DSW), and the final list of selected candidates will be announced on October 23 at 6 pm. The date of polling would be on October 30, from 10 am to 5 30 pm, followed by the counting of the votes on October 31, from 9 am onwards.

An interesting addition to this year’s ballot papers would be a ‘NONE OF THE ABOVE’ option added to them, along with the names of the parties.

The Returning Officer for this year’s elections is Professor Sanjay Subhodh, Department of History. The three Assistant Returning Officers are Dr. Mahadevan, from the Department of History, Dr. Raghava Reddy, Department of Sociology and Dr. Sridevi, from the Department of Economics.